Friday, September 28, 2012

2012 IT Awards Ceremony Celebrates Outstanding Off-Off Broadway Achievement

By Byrne Harrison

On Monday, September 24th, the New York Innovative Theatre Awards celebrated the best of Off-Off Broadway at their annual award ceremony.  The ceremony featured comedian Harrison Greenbaum as host, was directed by Tim Butterfield, Artistic Director of the Straphanger Collective, and was written by playwright Christopher Weikle.

Presenters for the evening included: Arthur Aviles (dancer/choreographer, BAAD!-The Bronx Academy of Arts and Dance), Boom Boom and Ceil (characters from Doric Wilson's Street Theatre), Jen Cody (CatsGrease), Jill BC Du Boff (sound designer for theatre, radio, television, film and special events), Laura Braza (director, artistic director of The Attic Theater Company), Joe Calarco (Shakespeare's R&J), Tovah Feldshuh (Irena's Vow, Yentl, Lend Me A Tenor, Golda's Balcony), Elena Holy (FringeNYC), Rick Lyon (puppeteer "Sesame Street", "Big Blue House", Men in Black), Peter Michael Marino (cabaret-spoof hit Lance Jonathan: All About Me!), Timothy Mason (Dr. Seuss' How The Grinch Stole Christmas!), Julie Menin (Chairperson of Community Board 1 in Lower Manhattan), Chris Muller (set designer, clients include Alvin Ailey, Juilliard Opera, Atlantic Stage), Diane Paulus (director, Artistic Director at the A.R.T.), Dick Scanlan (librettist, writer and actor Pageant, Thoroughly Modern Millie, Everyday Rapture), Jessica Shay, Roma Torre (NY1 "On-Stage"), Camelita Tropicana (a.k.a. Alina Troyano), and Jean-Claude van Itallie (playwright The Serpent, America Hurrah).

2012 Recipients:

5 Lesbian Brothers - Artistic Achievement Award

The Theatre Development Fund (TDF) - Ellen Stewart Award

Astoria Performing Arts Center  - CaffĂ© Cino Fellowship Award
Katie Kavett - Outstanding Stage Manager Award
Donnetta Lavinia Grays - 2012 Doric Wilson Independent Playwright Award 

Outstanding Ensemble

Conni's Avant Garde Restaurant Returns in: The Mothership Landing 
Justin Badger, David M. Barber, Melody Bates, Stephanie Dodd, Jeffrey FracĂ©, Connie Hall, Kelly Hayes, Jerusha Klemperer, Peter Lettre, Rachel Murdy, Melody Bates, Peter RichardsConni's Avant Garde Restaurant in association with the Irondale Center

Outstanding Solo Performance
Melanie Jones
Endure: A Run Woman Show
Collision Productions

Outstanding Actor in a Featured Role
Stephen Alan Wilson
The Last Days of Judas Iscariot
T. Schreiber Studio 

Outstanding Actress in a Featured Role
Celeste Arias
Demon Dreams (Oni No Yume)
Magic Futurebox

Outstanding Actor in a Lead Role
Greg Horton
A Man of No Importance
The Gallery Players 

Outstanding Actress in a Lead Role
Renee Claire Bergeron
A Man of No Importance
The Gallery Players

Outstanding Choreography/Movement
Joe Osheroff & Evan Zes
Homunculus: Reloaded
Homunculus Mask Theater

Outstanding Director
Joe Osheroff
Homunculus: Reloaded
Homunculus Mask Theater 

Outstanding Lighting Design
David A. Sexton
The Spring Fling: My Best/Worst Date Ever
F*It Club

Outstanding Costume Design
Sidney Fortner
The House of Mirth
Metropolitan Playhouse 

Outstanding Set Design
Kevin Judge
LoveSick (or Things That Don't Happen)
Project Y Theatre Company

Outstanding Sound Design
Matt Schloss

Outstanding Innovative Design
Joe Osheroff
Mask Design
Homunculus: Reloaded
Homunculus Mask Theater

Outstanding Original Music
Jeff Raab
12th Night
Libra Theater Company

Outstanding Original Short Script
Chisa Hutchinson
This is Not the Play
Mad Dog Theatre Company

Outstanding Original Full-Length Script
Melanie Jones
Endure: A Run Woman Show
Collision Productions

Outstanding Performance Art Piece
Conni's Avant Garde Restaurant Returns in: The Mothership Landing
Conni's Avant Garde Restaurant in association with the Irondale Center

Outstanding Production of a Musical

Outstanding Premiere Production of a Play
Advance Man
Gideon Productions 

Outstanding Production of a Remounted Play
Ajax in Iraq
Flux Theatre Ensemble

Theatre critics Doug Strassler (IT Awards Newsletter, Show Business Weekly, Off Off Online) and Aaron Riccio (That Sounds Cool and New Theater Corps) live-blogged the event at

THE INNOVATIVE THEATRE FOUNDATION is a not-for-profit organization, which recognizes the great work of New York's Off-Off-Broadway—honoring its artistic heritage and providing an alliance for this extensive and richly varied community. As advocates for Off-Off-Broadway, they recognize its unique and essential role contributing to global culture.

Each season, The Innovative Theatre Foundation publicly recognizes excellence in Off-Off-Broadway, with a high-profile awards ceremony. The New York Innovative Theatre Awards celebrate the community and honor some of the previous year’s greatest achievements. The IT Awards heighten audience awareness and foster greater appreciation of the New York theatre experience.

No comments: